Diane Smith-Gander

Non-executive Director

D.S.GANDER - 2017

Diane joined the Board in August 2009. She holds a Bachelor of Economics degree from The University of Western Australia and a Master of Business Administration from the University of Sydney. She has over 11 years' experience as a banking executive which culminated in her appointment as the head of Westpac Banking Corporation's Business and Technology Solutions and Services Division. She was previously a Partner with McKinsey & Company in the USA where she led major merger and transformation projects and had exposure to a wide variety of businesses in areas such as financial services, pharmaceuticals and retail. She is now a Senior Adviser at McKinsey & Company in Australia.

Diane is a director of AGL Energy Limited (appointed September 2016), Chair of Safe Work Australia and Chair of the Asbestos Safety and Eradication Council. She is also a director of Keystart Home Loans and North Queensland Airports group of companies and a member of the Norton Rose Fullbright (NRFA) Partnership Council. Previously she was Chairman of Broadspectrum Limited (retired September 2016), a director of CBH Group (resigned February 2014) and Deputy Chair of the NBN Co Limited (National Broadband Network) (resigned September 2013). She is an Adjunct Professor in Corporate Governance at The University of Western Australia and a member of The University of Western Australia Business School Advisory Board. Diane was also the former Chair of ASDA and Basketball Australia Limited, former Commissioner of the Western Australia Tourism Commission, a former director of the Committee for Perth Limited and a former member of the Perth Methodist Ladies' College Council. A Fellow of AICD and Governance Institute of Australia, Diane is also a trustee and member of the Board of CEDA - Committee for Economic Development of Australia and was the former President of Chief Executive Women, Australia's foremost advocacy group for women in business. Diane was presented with the Business Award at the 2018 Western Australian of the Year Awards. She has also established her own advisory company branded DSG Advisory Pty Ltd.

Wesfarmers Committee Memberships:
Member of the Audit and Risk, and Nomination committees.